Gluten-free diets are typically observed by people with celiac disease, a condition in which the lining of the intestines is damaged by a reaction to gluten that results in an inability to absorb important nutrients. If you or a family member is following a gluten-free diet, this means preparing meals that avoid products made with wheat, barley, rye and sometimes oats. This might seem like the end of convenient breakfasts in your house, but don't fret. Many breakfast options that won't compromise your family's health are fast and easy to make.
Gluten-Free Muffins or Pancakes
Wheat flour substitutes allow gluten-free eaters to indulge in pancakes and muffins without sacrificing their diets. Look for alternative flours made from corn, buckwheat, almonds, rice, amaranth and potato. Make gluten-free pancakes and muffins ahead of time and keep them in the fridge or freezer to be reheated in the morning for a fast but satisfying breakfast. Butter, honey and syrup are gluten-free toppings.
Fruit and Yogurt
Fruit and yogurt is a fast and healthy addition to breakfast that won't interfere with the gluten-free diet. Combine plain yogurt, sliced fresh fruit or dried fruit, and honey or sugar in a bowl, or put it in the blender to make a smoothie you can take with you when you're short on time.
Eggs are an excellent gluten-free breakfast food because they provide you with the protein you need to keep going until lunch. They also lend themselves to preparation in a wide variety of ways to keep you from getting tired of them. Add a scrambled, fried, poached, shirred, hard-boiled or soft- boiled egg to a gluten-free breakfast to make it more filling and nutritious. If you have a bit more time in the morning, make an omelet seasoned with herbs or a salad dressing mix for a flavorful breakfast. Keep hard-boiled eggs at hand for mornings when there's no time to cook.
Round out your meal with fruit juice, tea or coffee. Coffee and most teas are gluten-free, but some herbal teas do contain barley, which is not a gluten-free food, so check the labeling carefully. Milk or cream and honey or sugar are gluten-free, so long as no cross-contamination has occurred.
Like This Article? Let Us Know!
- Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images